Wednesday, October 9, 2013

Dueńas’ Forgotten Historical Secrets

one of the many historical wells, photo by Bombette G. Marin
The documented historical account of the municipality of Dueñas started when Miguel Lopez de Legaspi sent his men to Panay 1569 and made the island as the second Spanish settlement in the Philippines. Legaspi then assigned an encomienda to Diego Lopez de Valdepenas covering Sibucao, a district of Dueñas in 1571. Dueñas was founded in 1590 with the name of Sumandig. Remarks of this settlement are still remarkable in various barangays of this town. With its historical background and sustainable social and cultural evolution, Dueńas has a lot of diverse worth seeing sites that can satisfy tourist. The existing historical monuments in this ancient center of Ilonggo civilization are incentives enough for visiting this town. 

You can take on a tour of history's forgotten secrets, from mysterious ruins to nature walks. Interested in history? We have centuries-old monuments and crumbling ruins. The historical tourist may find many spectacular places in the area.


The ruined Miller House

Discover the off-beat, strange, haunted attractions of Hacienda Jaguimit that showcases some of its most unique Ancestral ruins. Hajienda Jaguimit is another important destination. Few places afford the opportunity to explore this type of attraction which takes you back hundreds of years into the lives of the people living in the area. The RUINS OF THE MILLER HOUSE in Haciende Jaguimit is believed to have been the ancestral house of an American Family who lived in the area during the Second World War. All that remains of the house is a roofless, hollowed-out shell of the main house with walls, each about a foot thick. It sits quietly in the middle of a sugarcane field community. A few meters across the house is the famous remain of a Muscovado Sugar Mill.




The seven century-old natural spring wells locally called as PITONG BUBON is one of the many attractions included in their Calang Eco-Historical Trekking Adventure Circuit.  Calang is a barangay situated two (2) kilometers away from the poblacion and could be reached through a 15-minute hike from the town center and Barangay Capuling. Barangay Calang is also tagged by the locals as the Spring Paradise of the municipality where adventurers can spring-hop in this very historic location.




Pitong Bubon was said to have been dug by pre-colonial ancestors to serve their water needs for drinking and bathing. These spring wells are found I the middle of a forest. Tuscany Wells are also found in Barangay Calang. Situated around 20 meters away from Pitong Bubon, this eight (8) historical wells form part of this barangay’s adventure circuit.




These remnants are among the forgotten tourist sites in Iloilo. At present, the community pays special attention to developing the historical aspect of the town to make it a tourist attraction and areas could be interesting in tracing Dueńas’ history. The community welcomes friends who are prepared to maintain the splendors of the past to get the best of the present.

Dueńas is 46.1 kilometers away from the city. It is made up of 47 barangays in its 9,052 hectare land area. It is bounded in the north by the component city of Passi; in the east by the municipality of San Enrique; in the south by the municipality of Pototan; and by the town of Lambunao in the west. It annually celebrates its patronal fiesta on the 30th of September in honor of San Jeronimo. Market day is every Sunday.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Illuminating Anilao on its 13th Banaag Festival

Anilao, Iloilo will once again usher the most wonderful season of the year with Banaag Festival on October 31, 2017. This signature...