Tuesday, September 20, 2016

A Historical Retreat in Guimbal

CPU tourism students exploring the sites in Guimbal for Tumandok 2016
Guimbal, Iloilo sprawls in the heart of the First Congressional District. Despite the obvious rapid development in the area, a spectacular richness survives within and around it. It is one of Iloilo’s beautifully preserved colonial towns, located 40 minutes by car from the city. Boasting one of the largest, beautiful and clean town squares in Iloilo, Guimbal offers a unique cultural experience to its visitors.


Right in the heart of the town is the Baroque architectural style of St. Nicholas of Tolentine Parish church reconstructed under the supervision of Father Jose Oranguren in 1893. However the church was burned in December of 1895. Father Agustin Llorente restored the church and started building its tower in January of 1896. The present church is of two levels. Its pediment was integrated in the second level. It has a semi-circular arch with a row of rosettes for its main entrance.  In 1774, the first structure of the church was built with yellow sandstone walls and coral rocks but was later destroyed by an earthquake in July 13, 1787.  Originally facing the street across which is the sea. It had undergone some reconstruction after it was destroyed twice, during the Second World War and during the 1948 Lady Kaykay earthquake.


One of Guimbal’s most visited sites dates back to the 17th century. A string of watchtowers locally known as Bantayan served as a lookout posts for Moro pirates were built in the barangays of Nanga, Rizal-Tuguisan, Generosa and Pescadores. 


Supervised by Spanish authorities, the locals guard their coastline from constant piratical attacks.


Considered as the Longest Steel Bridge in Iloilo, Guimbal’s Steel Bridge measures approximately 0.350 or .7 kilometers long. When you are coming from the town proper it starts in Barangay Bagumbayan and ends in Barangay Bongol. It is made of Pittsburgh Steel from Virginia, USA. It was finished in 1931. 

CPU tourism students assigned for Guimbal Tumandok 2016
The trail under the bridge also provides access to a favourite recreation spot among locals and as site for themed photo shoot. It has medium-sized Sineguelas trees. This three is widely cultivated for its edible fruit. Seedlings are green when not ripe but enjoyed by locals by adding salt. The ripe fruit is red and is very sweet to the taste. The fruits are often eaten ripe, with or without the skin. It is commonly sold in the streets of the town at the border of Guimbal – Igbaras as far as the last town south of Iloilo, San Joaquin.


The Ayaw-Ayaw Monument is a historical landmark which was built on a hill in Barangay Igcocolo. It has the life-sized image of Andres Bonifacio, the founder of Katipunan. The landmark was built on the place where the American soldiers had a bloody encounter with the Filipino revolutionaries.


Guimbal Riverside Park is a newly-constructed esplanade that extends from the Barangays of Sta. Rosa – Laguna to Particion. It was purposely established as a River Control Project of now Mayor, Oscar Garin Sr.

Guimbal is 29 kilometers south from Iloilo City. It has a land area of 4, 448 hectares subdivided into 33 barangays. The town shares borders with Tigbauan on the east; on the northeast by Tubungan; Igbaras on the northwest; and west by Miag-ao. It annually celebrates its religious fiesta in honor of San Nicolas de Tolentino every September 10. Markey day is every Tuesday.

To get to the resort, one can take a Guimbal jeepney at the Don Benito Q. Acap Sr. Southern Iloilo Perimeter Boundary in Barangay Mohon, Oton or when in the city, at the market situated at the back of Robinsons Place Iloilo. For more information, please contact Miss Karen Gayanilo-Felicio at 09082865480.

Know more about Guimbal on the 12th TUMANDOK, a Tourism Month celebration on September 22-25 at the fountain area of Robinsons Place Iloilo organized by the Provincial Culture, Arts, History and Tourism Office of the Iloilo Provincial Government, the Department of Tourism Region VI, the Iloilo Tourism Officers Association, Inc. and Robinsons Place Iloilo in cooperation with Central Philippine University, Tinukib, Department of Trade and Industry, Yakult and The Daily Guardian.





















Monday, September 19, 2016

The Rural Beauty of Duenas


Duenas, Iloilo attracts people who seek out some kind of a magical and mystical energy believed to inhabit this strangely beautiful town. Though a lot of Ilonggos do not really believe in mysticism, many visitors are swayed by this town’s ethereal landscape. Duenas has a special sort of enthralling beauty.

The beauty of this town is not natural. Many are isolated in its remote barangays. Many who fancy a little outdoor adventure and getting away to the remote locations and enjoying the activities that come with it is much more satisfying.


The present church of St. Jerome Parish is of Baroque – Romanesque architectural style was constructed under the supervision of Father Nicolas Gallo in 1878. Materials used were of stone and bricks. Its interior of Tuscan design with an exterior of Doric design measured 65 meters in length and 16 meters wide. The church was damaged during World War II and in the 1948 earthquake.  The dome and transept were reconstructed in 1982. It was said that first church was made of wood but was destroyed by an earthquake in 1787.


Believed to have been the ancestral house of an American family during World War II, the Miller house in Hacienda Jaguimit  is abandoned and in ruins. It has a crumbling beauty on its own and they inspire dreams of what they might be turned into if these former mansions, once owned by rich businessmen during the early 19th centuries in rural Iloilo. The house had been stripped of nearly every architectural element–from doors to floor tiles to fixtures. Yet, it retains elegance in the middle of a sugarcane field. A few meters across the house is the famous remain of a Muscovado Sugar Mill.


Kalingawan Picnic Area is a pleasant family-friendly inland resort situated in Barangay Punong Grande almost 100-meters away from the National Highway. It has two (2) concrete homey air-conditioned accommodations awaiting its guests with rooms accommodating 3 to 5 persons. Guests can hold small parties and gatherings at the resort's mini pavilion. Other facilities like adult and kiddie pools, picnic hut and mini-store. 


Located in Barangay Cabudian is another family-owned inland resort, Rocky’s Place with its accommodation and amenities surely to bring enjoyment to its visitors. It features outdoor pool for your swimming pleasure, dining facilities, meeting rooms for your corporate/private functions, and free parking area, 24-hour security to assist/guard you within the property.
They offer packaged catering services for special occasions such as weddings, baptismal and parties. Visitors can take a tricycle from the poblacion to the area with a fee of P20.00 per person. Entrance fee is P50.00.

CPU tourism students in Barangay Calang calamansi plantation
Aside from being the Eco-Historical destination of the town, Barangay Calang is known for its calamansi also tagged as the “Golden Lime,” a citrus fruit grown all over the Philippines. It is rich in Vitamin C content that helps boost the body’s immune system as it eliminate the toxins that result to a faster weight loss. The barangay through Real Harvest started in October of 2015 produces fresh juices and concentrate from calamansi handpicked within half a hectare plantation in the area. Drinking calamansi everyday increases the body’s resistance to disease, prevents eye disorder and aids the healing of wounds. It also prevents tooth decay, bleeding of gums and loosening of teeth due to its vitamin C content which helps in maintaining the health of the teeth. Calamansi tarts and jellies are also popular by-products of Real Harvest owned by Miss Rhellen Uyhamco at 09214056866.

Duenas is a 4th class municipality is 46.1 kilometers away from Iloilo City. The town is politically subdivided into 47 barangays sprawling to an area of 9,052 hectares. To get to the town, air-conditioned bus is available daily at the New Ceres Terminal in Barangay Camalig, Jaro, Iloilo City. For more information, Please contact Mrs. Susan Labro Laboriante-Pacheo- Municipal Tourism Officer at 09199943188.

Know more about Duenas, Iloilo on the 12th TUMANDOK, a Tourism Month celebration on September 22-25 at the fountain area of Robinsons Place Iloilo organized by the Provincial Culture, Arts, History and Tourism Office of the Iloilo Provincial Government, the Department of Tourism Region VI, the Iloilo Tourism Officers Association, Inc. and Robinsons Place Iloilo in cooperation with Central Philippine University, Tinukib, Department of Trade and Industry and The Daily Guardian.




Wednesday, September 14, 2016

The Captivating Views of Barangay Bucari in Leon



Barangay Bucari, Leon, Iloilo is one of the most famous tourist destinations in the province and still a popular summer holiday destination for many Ilonggos. The area measures 285.36 hectares and is located 21 kilometers away from the town proper. It is situated in the highest portion of Leon rising 1,200-meter-above sea level and was declared as an Eco-tourist zone. Its appealing scenery is an explosion of greens saturating the pine tree-covered mountains, a perfect place to just kick back and relax.  A stop here is highly advisable for visitors to Iloilo.


It accessible by jeepney with one trip daily every 9 a.m. at P40.00 fare for every person and leaves Bucari for the town proper every 3 p.m. Normal travel time is one hour. For the adventurous in spirit, 30 units of motorcycle travel to Bucari at P150.00 one way for double occupancy or at P200.00 one way for single occupancy. You may contact Reneboy Cabanias at 09487219584.


Bucari is a mountain range situated in the southwest portion of the province. Originally, the Bucari Area measures 4,500 hectares, almost the size of the towns of San Miguel and Pavia combined. It covers 14 barangays of Leon extending to seven (7) barangays of Alimodian. An area of 500 hectares is being managed by the LGU and DENR.


The barangay of Bucari was once the seat of government resistance against the Japanese in World War II. In 1996 via Executive Order 120, Governor Arthur D. Defensor, Sr. declared Bucari as the “Summer Capital of Iloilo.”


It lures visitors year-round where hikers and mountain bikers traverse the mountains here to enjoy the sprawling panoramas of the expansive mountain ranges extending to neighboring towns and adjacent province. The cool climate is perfect for growing high-value produce such as carrots, cabbage, Baguio beans, chilis, eggplant and chayote or vegetable pear locally known as sayote. Farmers grow their crops along the hills and mountainside in terraces.


It has three quaint lodges tucked beneath pine-covered peaks: Pineridge Bucari in Barangay Bacolod; Talon Inn inside Bucari National High School in Barangay Bucari, and; Bucari Pine Forest in Sitio Tabionan, Barangay Bucari.


Pineridge Bucari is an exclusive Spa Resort in Barangay Bacolod located approximately 2 hours away from the city. It offers Health, Wellness and Mountain climbing and exploration activities.  It has a restaurant that features organic and gourmet menus. The road getting there is moderately good with concrete roads interspersed with gravel roads leading to the resort.  Sleeping accommodations include three (3) rooms dorm style at six (6) persons per room. For day visits and overnight stay, please contact Pineridge Bucari Reservation Office in Tabucan, Barotac Nuevo, Iloilo with telephone: (033) 320 0977/ mobile : +63-908-227-6719 or email: pineridgebucari@yahoo.com.


Talon Inn situated within the premises of Bucari National High School offers three bamboo lodges perfect for a group of four. The sweeping views of beautiful mountain ranges of Alimodian, Iloilo and Antique province serves as its backdrop. For more information, please contact 09088963503 or email at bucarinhs@gmail.com.


Bucari Pine Forest located within the campsite offers four (4) lodging houses for a group of eight (8) persons each house at P1,600.00. For more information, please contact Mr. Evan Cala-or, Camp Manager at 09497025758 or 09367464742.


The lure of the mountains, fresh air and getting away from the crowds and traffic of the city all make for a great vacation. Whether it is a quiet weekend, romantic escape or family fun filled holiday, a trip to the mountains can be just what you need to relax and enjoy some time off.

Leon is 28 kilometers or almost 45-minute drive west-southwest of Iloilo City. It is bounded in the north by the municipality of Alimodian; in the west the municipality of San Remegio of the province of Antique; in the south by the municipalities of Tigbauan and Tubungan; and in the east by the municipality of San Miguel. It has a total land area 14,005 hectares politically subdivided by 85 barangays.

To get to Leon, jeepneys and air-conditioned vans ply the Leon-Iloilo City route daily at the Jaro market on a fixed 8-minute interval. Air conditioned taxis are also available for hire at reasonable and negotiable rates. For more information, please contact Miss Rose Leah Kilayko at 09393426040.


Know more about Bucari in Leon, Iloilo on the 12th TUMANDOK, a Tourism Month celebration on September 22-25 at the fountain area of Robinsons Place Iloilo organized by the Provincial Culture, Arts, History and Tourism Office of the Iloilo Provincial Government, the Department of Tourism Region VI, the Iloilo Tourism Officers Association, Inc. and Robinsons Place Iloilo in cooperation with Central Philippine University, Tinukib, Department of Trade and Industry and The Daily Guardian.





Tuesday, September 13, 2016

Keeping History, Architecture and Identity Alive in Sta. Barbara

CPU tourism students explore the Golf Museum

Sta. Barbara, Iloilo is a compact, cute and charming town. One of the easiest towns to travel in to is a historic goldmine of attractions and cultural activity.  Every visitor must take the time to soak up Sta. Barbara’s fascinating history and rich culture.

The colonial-flavoured area of the 1925 Victory Plaza located in the middle, the museum and church and convent connected through a tidy main street is just a captivating visual illustration of history, but also one of the more popular old centers in Iloilo.

the Sta. Barbara Church and Convent 
The most striking feature is the Baroque-Renaissance architectural style, the mute-toned church and convent. Though not the original church, it is this town’s cherished landmark situated along the tidy main street beside a well-maintained park. The present church made of quarried sandstone and hardwood from the towns of Leon, Alimodian and Tubungan was built in 1849 under the supervision of Father Francisco Aguerria and was finished in 1878 under the supervision of Father Calixto Fernandez. The church and convent was declared a National Historic Site in July of 1990 and as a National Historical Treasure in November 17, 2013.

currently it houses the character exhibition of the Panay Epic Hinilawod
at the Centennial Museum
Try exploring with artifacts related to the entire history of the town. The Sta. Barbara Centenial Museum houses the town’s proud historical heritage. Constructed in 1998, it has interesting 18th century photos and personal belongings of this town’s local hero, Gen. Martin Delgado. It also serves as the Tourist Information Center situated beside the municipal hall fronting the church and convent.


The town is simply an educational and fun place to walk around and soak up the atmosphere. Known as the oldest golf course in the Philippines, the Iloilo Golf and Country Club built in 1907, started out as a 9-hole golf course carved from the rolling hills of Barangay San Sebastian by a group expatriates from Scotland, England and America who were in Iloilo to work for the Panay Railways. It was the first Philippine club accepted as an affiliate of The Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St Andrews in Scotland. It was only in 1920 when Filipinos were allowed to join the elite club. Today, this 35-hectare historic recreation area is a challenging 18-hole golf course. The old clubhouse, the Tony Chan Veranda holds a Golf Museum where old golf balls and other golf paraphernalia as early as the 18th century are on display.


Situated in Barangays Duyan-Duyan and GMTD is the oldest Diversionary or Gravitational Dam in the Philippines completed in 1921. From Maasin River, water passes through the dam and then distributed to the towns of Leganes and Pavia. While in the area, visitors can experience flying across the dam on an exhilarating high wire adventure at 198 meters across suspended on a height of 60 feet. Regular fee is at P150.00 for students. For strict compliance, students are made to fill-up the Zipline Liability Release Form before they can do the zipline.  Entrance fee to the site is P10.00 per person. The area is currently managed by the Municipal Public Utilities Economic Enterprise under Mr. Ryan Suplido at 09394156139 or Miss Tina Capio at (033) 5237074.


With that increased demand and popularity, it is not surprising that a local farmer in Barangay Camambugan is trying his hand at growing the dragon fruit. In 2014, Mr. Ricardo Sua took a gamble and added dragon fruit to his livestock and poultry business. His 3,000 square meter lot with a picturesque view of the Iloilo International Airport has 250 posts yielding 100-150 kilos of dragon fruit every harvest. To maintain the upright growth of the plants, concrete columns are used for support. Each immature plant stems are tied to these columns. And, a circular metal frame is installed over the columns for a balanced growth. Saplings must be planted on an open field so that they can get direct sunlight. The dragon fruit is now dubbed as the new money crop. Its growing local popularity and surging market power can largely be attributed to its exoticness. The future of dragon fruit in Iloilo will be as big and bright as the fruit itself. For guided tours in the area, visitors can get in touch with the Municipal Tourism Office.

Sta. Barbara is 15.6 kilometers away or a 25-minuter drive from the city. It is politically subdivided into 60 barangays distributed over its 7,748 hectare land area. To get to town, one can take a jeepney at the terminal fronting Christ the King Memorial Park in Jaro, Iloilo City. For more information, please contact Miss Irene Magallon at 09209697130.

Sta. Barbara is celebrated as a place of historical and cultural importance. It has a rich and exciting history, and visiting the place is so much more fun than reading about it.

CPU tourism students exploring the Sta. Barbara convent 
Know more about Sta. Barbara on the 12th TUMANDOK, a Tourism Month celebration on September 22-25 at the fountain area of Robinsons Place Iloilo organized by the Provincial Culture, Arts, History and Tourism Office of the Iloilo Provincial Government, the Department of Tourism Region VI, the Iloilo Tourism Officers Association, Inc. and Robinsons Place Iloilo in cooperation with Central Philippine University, Tinukib, Department of Trade and Industry and The Daily Guardian.








Monday, September 12, 2016

Resort Holiday in Idyllic Damires Hills Tierra Verde


If you are looking for fun, family-friendly rural escape to visit on your Iloilo holiday, there is no name more synonymous with inland resort adventure than Damires Hills Tierra Verde in Janiuay. Enjoy an old-fashioned, affordable resort holiday with an idyllic setting in the Central District of the province known as the prime Agri-tourism destination in Iloilo.


Damires Hills teems with nature making it an ideal venue for adventure. This 45-hectare inland resort is one of the pioneers of such outdoor escape in Iloilo. It is known to serve up a variety of fun activities for the whole clan. The whole family is catered for in a safe, secure environment where the kids can have fun and their parents can also enjoy themselves.


Staying at the resort is a good choice when you are visiting Iloilo. It is strategically located in the best spot for visitors who desire a serene and peaceful getaway, far away from the crowds. Yet, it has a very good location, also near the Iloilo International Airport in Cabatuan, which is only 30 minutes away. This resort is very easy to find in Janiuay since it is strategically positioned close to the town’s public facilities. It is located within easy reach of various places of interests in Janiuay for your adventure such as the Ruins of the Japanese Watchtowers, Ruins of the old St. Julian Parish and Janiuay Catholic Cemetery.


But staying at inland resort will also give you a pleasant stay. It has six (6) air-conditioned rooms for a family of eight, and two (2) air-conditioned rooms for a family of six. It also has five (5) air-conditioned rooms for couples. A 20-room hotel is now on under construction to cater to more visitors who want a wonderful accommodation for their family holiday. Presently, it can fully maximize its overnight facilities up to 90 persons daily.


The inland resort offers various entertaining facilities for you and the whole family. It has 18 day time cottages that cater to a small group of eight to a bigger group of 40 persons consumable at very affordable rates.


For company seminars, trainings or special occasions, the inland resort has two (2) fully air-conditioned function rooms that can accommodate a group of 200 persons in their 2nd level and a small group of 80 persons at the groundfloor area.


Have an enjoyable and relaxing day at their adult pool and two kiddie pools, whether you are traveling solo or with your loved ones.


Traverse the treetops on an awesome outdoor adventure on an aerial cable trail. This exciting, non-strenuous adventure lets you and your family glide on a zipline at P200 for sitting and P300for Superman; 10 ATVs; a Canopy Walk of 219 meters in length suspended over 250 feet above the ground. Guided tour of the orchard, as well as the chance to pick a variety of fruits in season is also available upon request.


Visit the charming coffeshop/ pastry shop and souvenir shop that sell local produce from neighboring towns and provinces. Splendid service will make you complain for nothing during your stay at the inland resort. Savor your favorite dishes with special cuisines such as their Damires coolers, Turon de Valenciana and Ginapusan nga manok. Restaurant prices are reasonable.


With all facilities offered, the inland resort is the right place to stay. This is the ideal road trip pit stop! Damires Hills Tierra Verde is one of the most visited places in Iloilo.


For inquiries and reservations, you may call (033) 3968144/ 5316519 or 09390600689/ 09176325901. For city bookings you may inquire at G/F Carmelita Building, Quezon Street, Iloilo City or at Telephone numbers (033) 3369670 or 3373882. You may also email them at damireshills.71@gmail.com or at their facebook account www.damireshills.com.

CPU tourism students pose at the 18th century grad Janiuay Cemetery
Janiuay is approximately 29 kilometers from the city occupying a fertile plain that is bordered by Cabatuan to the south; to the southwestern part by Maasin; to the eastern part, with which it share a border along Mina; Lambunao to the north; and by the Province of Antique to the west. The town is made up of 60 barangays distributed to its 17,910-hectare land area. To get to Janiauy one can take a jeepney at the terminal fronting Christ the King Memorial Park in Jaro, Iloio City.


Know more about Damires Hills Tierra Verde and the town of Janiuay on the 12th TUMANDOK, a Tourism Month celebration on September 22-25 at the fountain area of Robinsons Place Iloilo organized by the Provincial Culture, Arts, History and Tourism Office of the Iloilo Provincial Government, the Department of Tourism Region VI, the Iloilo Tourism Officers Association, Inc. and Robinsons Place Iloilo in cooperation with Central Philippine University, Tinukib, Department of Trade and Industry and The Daily Guardian.



Thursday, September 8, 2016

Enchanting Dumangas Adventure

CPU tourism students on top of the 18th century lighthouse in Siete Pecados


Dumangas, Iloilo has developed over the years from a small settlement into a beautiful, thriving town. The town is known for its deep historic roots which reveal themselves throughout the town. The surrounding landscape is as picturesque as the town itself, with typical coastal and agricultural scenes of fishing villages, mangrove areas, rice paddies, and seafood restaurants that runs past the town center border from the coastal road.



The town has largely retained an unspoilt, historic ambiance that lead up to the beautiful church which crowns the town. The Gothic Byzantine architectural style of the present St. Agustine Parish Church remains to be one of the more impressive churches in Iloilo. It was constructed in 1887 under the supervision of Fr. Fernando Llorente and finished in 1896 by Fr. Rafael Murillo. Built using red bricks and coral stones, it measured 72 meters long and 22 meters wide and was considered to be one of the best churches in the province during its time and the most artistic in the Philippines. It was declared by the National Historical Institute as a National Landmark in January 14, 1974. The first church along with its convent said to have been built in 1572 under the supervision of Fr. Martin de Rada OSA was burned in 1628; the second structure finished before 1787 was destroyed by an earthquake.



Under the supervision of Father Juan de Alva OSA, the First Stone Chapel in Panay was built in 1572 in Barangay Ermita formerly called “Araut.” Now in ruins, it is housed on an elevated land where the base made of coral rocks and old wood is exposed. Originally the chapel was made of nipa.



The ruins of a smokestack chimney in Barangay Rosario approximately 6 kilometers away from the town center had been left in much the same condition in which it was found. A huge Balete tree blends into its red brick walls with its old thick roots giving the structure a surreal appearance. The atmospheric combination of trees growing out of the ruins and the surrounding sugarcane farm makes it one of Dumangas’ most popular tourist attractions.



Overlooking the town via its coastal area is the enchantingly beautiful Siete Pecados, a group of seven islets located between the towns of Dumangas, Iloilo and the municipality of Buenavista in Guimaras. Located in the largest islet amongst the seven is an 18th century lighthouse finished in August of 1884 under the supervision of Domingo de Escardillas. With limited space in the islet, the tower was constructed in the middle of its pavilion.





You know what they say about good things in small packages. The coastal barangays of Dumangas has managed to turn the area into an oceanic dining hotspot. These best seafood restaurants in Iloilo serve drool-worthy seafood cuisine and seafood dishes, such as fish and shellfish. Set on tapered-roof back patio for beachside-style dining, these restaurants Uphold and build on such cherished local traditions while making spectacular waves on their own. PIAD’S Seafoods, Joy-Joy’s Seafood Restaurant, River Pearl Seafood Restaurant, Siete Pecados Seafood Restaurant, Tytche Grill and Seafoods Restaurant all have at least one thing in common: they deserve your attention.

one of the islets of Siete Pecados

Dumangas RORO Port in Barangay Sapao- Sitio Nalu-oyan is a seven hectare Port Complex made possible with the assistance from the government of Japan. Daily trips to Bacolod City is serviced by Tri-Star Megalink Corporation every 2 am, 5 am, 7 am, 10 am, 12 noon, 2:30 pm, 4:30 pm, 6:30 pm, 8:30 pm and 11 pm; Montenegro Shipping Line leaves the port at 4 am, 8 am, 12 noon, 4 pm, 8 pm and 12 midnight; Millenium Shipping Company Incorporated departs at 6 am, 11 am and 9:30 pm. Regular Fare is P96.00 with discount upon presentation of I.D. for students, Senior Citizens, People With Disabilities and children ages 3-7.

CPU tourism students pose with Dumangas LGU rescue team before a
motorized boat trip to Siete Pecados

Dumangas is a 1st class municipality in the province of Iloilo. Politically subdivided into 45 barangays, it has a land area of 11, 677 hectares. The town is located northeast or 30 kilometers away from Iloilo City. It is bounded in the north by the Municipality of Barotac Nuevo, on the south and east by the Guimaras Strait and on the west by the Municipalities of Pototan and Zarraga. One can travel to Dumangas via the Monfort Coast Boulevard. Vans are readily available at Baldoza Transport Terminal in Barangay Baldoza, Lapaz, Iloilo City.

Know more about Dumangas on the 12th TUMANDOK, a Tourism Month celebration on September 22-25 at the fountain area of Robinsons Place Iloilo organized by the Provincial Culture, Arts, History and Tourism Office of the Iloilo Provincial Government, the Department of Tourism Region VI, the Iloilo Tourism Officers Association, Inc. and Robinsons Place Iloilo in cooperation with Central Philippine University, Tinukib, Department of Trade and Industry and The Daily Guardian.






Illuminating Anilao on its 13th Banaag Festival

Anilao, Iloilo will once again usher the most wonderful season of the year with Banaag Festival on October 31, 2017. This signature...