Tuesday, September 20, 2016

A Historical Retreat in Guimbal

CPU tourism students exploring the sites in Guimbal for Tumandok 2016
Guimbal, Iloilo sprawls in the heart of the First Congressional District. Despite the obvious rapid development in the area, a spectacular richness survives within and around it. It is one of Iloilo’s beautifully preserved colonial towns, located 40 minutes by car from the city. Boasting one of the largest, beautiful and clean town squares in Iloilo, Guimbal offers a unique cultural experience to its visitors.


Right in the heart of the town is the Baroque architectural style of St. Nicholas of Tolentine Parish church reconstructed under the supervision of Father Jose Oranguren in 1893. However the church was burned in December of 1895. Father Agustin Llorente restored the church and started building its tower in January of 1896. The present church is of two levels. Its pediment was integrated in the second level. It has a semi-circular arch with a row of rosettes for its main entrance.  In 1774, the first structure of the church was built with yellow sandstone walls and coral rocks but was later destroyed by an earthquake in July 13, 1787.  Originally facing the street across which is the sea. It had undergone some reconstruction after it was destroyed twice, during the Second World War and during the 1948 Lady Kaykay earthquake.


One of Guimbal’s most visited sites dates back to the 17th century. A string of watchtowers locally known as Bantayan served as a lookout posts for Moro pirates were built in the barangays of Nanga, Rizal-Tuguisan, Generosa and Pescadores. 


Supervised by Spanish authorities, the locals guard their coastline from constant piratical attacks.


Considered as the Longest Steel Bridge in Iloilo, Guimbal’s Steel Bridge measures approximately 0.350 or .7 kilometers long. When you are coming from the town proper it starts in Barangay Bagumbayan and ends in Barangay Bongol. It is made of Pittsburgh Steel from Virginia, USA. It was finished in 1931. 

CPU tourism students assigned for Guimbal Tumandok 2016
The trail under the bridge also provides access to a favourite recreation spot among locals and as site for themed photo shoot. It has medium-sized Sineguelas trees. This three is widely cultivated for its edible fruit. Seedlings are green when not ripe but enjoyed by locals by adding salt. The ripe fruit is red and is very sweet to the taste. The fruits are often eaten ripe, with or without the skin. It is commonly sold in the streets of the town at the border of Guimbal – Igbaras as far as the last town south of Iloilo, San Joaquin.


The Ayaw-Ayaw Monument is a historical landmark which was built on a hill in Barangay Igcocolo. It has the life-sized image of Andres Bonifacio, the founder of Katipunan. The landmark was built on the place where the American soldiers had a bloody encounter with the Filipino revolutionaries.


Guimbal Riverside Park is a newly-constructed esplanade that extends from the Barangays of Sta. Rosa – Laguna to Particion. It was purposely established as a River Control Project of now Mayor, Oscar Garin Sr.

Guimbal is 29 kilometers south from Iloilo City. It has a land area of 4, 448 hectares subdivided into 33 barangays. The town shares borders with Tigbauan on the east; on the northeast by Tubungan; Igbaras on the northwest; and west by Miag-ao. It annually celebrates its religious fiesta in honor of San Nicolas de Tolentino every September 10. Markey day is every Tuesday.

To get to the resort, one can take a Guimbal jeepney at the Don Benito Q. Acap Sr. Southern Iloilo Perimeter Boundary in Barangay Mohon, Oton or when in the city, at the market situated at the back of Robinsons Place Iloilo. For more information, please contact Miss Karen Gayanilo-Felicio at 09082865480.

Know more about Guimbal on the 12th TUMANDOK, a Tourism Month celebration on September 22-25 at the fountain area of Robinsons Place Iloilo organized by the Provincial Culture, Arts, History and Tourism Office of the Iloilo Provincial Government, the Department of Tourism Region VI, the Iloilo Tourism Officers Association, Inc. and Robinsons Place Iloilo in cooperation with Central Philippine University, Tinukib, Department of Trade and Industry, Yakult and The Daily Guardian.





















No comments:

Post a Comment

PAPISIK Restobar: Showcasing Authentic Ilonggo Cuisine

Papisik Native Chicken Native chicken, duck and goat meat are a staple of most rural Iloilo cuisine especially on special occasions...